North Shore Zone (NSZ)

Zone Contact Information

Zone Chair: Fran Heaney, North Vancouver – Email: [email protected]
Vice Chair: Leslie Thompson
Treasurer: Norman White, Burnaby
Secretary: Anne Marsh, North Vancouver Community Players, North Vancouver

Current Member Clubs 2017-18

Between Shifts Theatre (Squamish) – Club Rep: Kathy Daniels
North Vancouver Community Players (North Vancouver) – Club Rep: Anne Marsh
– Well Planned Theatre Company (Burnaby)
Deep Cove Stage Society (Deep Cove) – Club Rep: Mike Jarvis
SMP Dramatic Society (North Vancouver) – Club Rep: Nicky Pratt
– Windsor Theatre Company

Past Member Clubs

– First Impressions Theatre (Deep Cove)
– Shidokan Productions (North Vancouver)
– Theatre West Van (West Vancouver)
– Seabrooke Entertainment (Lions Bay) – Club Rep: Cayla Brooke
– Sunshine Coast Driftwood Players (Gibsons) – Club Rep: Sandi McGinnis

North Shore Zone 2017 Festival RESULTS

Adjudicator Kathryn Shaw was presented with many high-calibre productions and fine performances during the week of theatre May 8-13 at Presentation House Theatre. However, one production stood out above all others. Marion Bridge by Daniel MacIvor, presented by Deep Cove Stage Society, will now go forward to represent the North Shore Zone at Theatre BC’s MAINSTAGE, the drama festival which encompasses winning groups from throughout British Columbia, to be held this year in Vernon, June 30-July 8, 2017 and will perform on Monday, July 3.

Main Awards presented by Adjudicator Kathryn Shaw

Best Production (and Zone Festival Winner): Sponsored by Crystalview Pool & Spa
Marion Bridge (Deep Cove Stage Society)

Best Director: Sponsored by Fran’s Furbelows
Norman White, Marion Bridge (Deep Cove Stage Society)

Best Overall Design: Sponsored by North Shore News
Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

Best Actor – Female: Sponsored by Deep Cove Stage Society
Kathryn Daniels, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

Best Actor – Male: Sponsored by North Vancouver Community Players
Scott Alpen, The Great Kooshog Lake Hollis McCauley Fishing Derby
(SMP Dramatic Society)

Best Supporting Actor – Female: Sponsored by Between Shifts Theatre
Amy Starkey, Marion Bridge (Deep Cove Stage Society)

Best Supporting Actor – Male: Sponsored by SMP Dramatic Society
Todd Weitzel, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

Best Ensemble: Sponsored by Royal LePage Sussex (Joe & Brody Lloyd)
Colleen Byberg, Amy Starkey, Lauren Campbell, Marion Bridge (Deep Cove Stage Society)

Best Set Design: Sponsored by Theatre West Van
Andy Jones-Cox, Linda Sharp, 2000 (North Vancouver Community Players)

Best Achievement in Costumes: Sponsored by Well Planned Theatre Company
Larysa Mianzhynski and Windsor Theatre Company, Unity (1918) (Windsor Theatre Company)

Best Lighting: Sponsored by B Fit Personal Training
Michael Hewitt, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

Best Sound: Sponsored by Cheshire Cheese Restaurant & Bar
Michael Hewitt, Darrell Booth, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

Special Adjudicator’s Certificates of Merit:

  • To Juanita Dawn for Outstanding Kayak Design and Construction, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)
  • To Linda Sharp and Crew for Outstanding Scenic Painting, 2000 (North Vancouver Community Players)
  • To Cast and Crew of Unity (1918) for Outstanding Youth Ensemble (Windsor Theatre Company)
  • To Karen Golden for Believable Portrayal of a Nonagenarian, role of Nanny in 2000 (North Vancouver Community Players)
  • To Cast of The Great Kooshog Lake Hollis McCauley Fishing Derby for Comic Sensibility and Ability to Make Us Laugh (SMP Dramatic Society)

North Shore Zone Awards

Don Marsh Award (for creating a spirit of harmony amongst groups on the North Shore):
Michael Methot

Unsung Hero Award in Memory of Jim Brick: Meghan McNeight (North Vancouver Community Players)

Florence Goodwin Theatre Award for the Most Promising Newcomer (with a monetary value of $200 to be applied to theatre development): Julia Murphy, Unity (1918) (Windsor Theatre Company)

People’s Choice Awards

Outstanding Production: Sponsored by Whitby & Tower Moving & Storage
Marion Bridge (Deep Cove Stage Society)

Outstanding Performance: Sponsored by North Shore Signarama
Kathryn Daniels, Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)
Karen Golden, 2000 (North Vancouver Community Players)

Outstanding Design Element: Sponsored by Chen Auto Clinic
Set Design for 2000 (North Vancouver Community Players)

Backstage Co-operation Award (presented by Festival Technician Michael Methot):
Kayak (Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish)

The winning play, Marion Bridge will represent the North Shore Zone on Monday, July 3 at Theatre BC’s annual MAINSTAGE in Vernon, June 30-July 8, 2017.

Past Events

North Shore Zone 2017 Festival

  • Date: May 8 – 13, 2017
  • Adjudicator: Kathryn Shaw
  • Venue: Presentation House Theatre, 333 Chesterfield Avenue, North Vancouver, BC
  • More Info & Ticket Sales: Presentation House Theatre
  • Box Office: 604-990-3474
Festival Schedule:
  • May 8 “Unity, 1918” by Kevin Kerr, Windsor Secondary School
  • May 9 “The Great Kooshog Lake Hollis McCauley Fishing Derby” by Norm Foster, SMP Dramatic Society
  • May 10 “Marion Bridge” by Daniel MacIvor, Deep Cove Stage Society
  • May 11 “2000” by Joan MacLeod, North Vancouver Community Players
  • May 12 “Kayak” by Jordan Hall, Between Shifts Theatre, Squamish

NSZ Awards Ceremony Results Listed by Year.
Click Here for more information on all Zone Festivals!

Any group interested in being involved in the North Shore Zone activities, please contact Doug Perri: [email protected]