About Theatre BC

The British Columbia Drama Association

The Society

THEATRE BC has served as the parent association for community theatre in the province since 1932. Its aims are to promote and encourage the development of community theatre by providing leadership as well as opportunities for participation, education and sharing in the enjoyment of diverse theatre experiences.

The Zones

Theatre BC divides the province into 10 geographical Zones, each incorporating the community theatre groups within the region. Each group appoints a representative, who attends Zone meetings and helps elect a Zone Executive. The elected Chair of each Zone represents the region at provincial Theatre BC meetings and liaises with Theatre BC to coordinate festivals, workshops and instructor tours. An annual adjudicated theatre festival is held within each Zone in the spring, with the winning production going on to the Provincial MAINSTAGE Festival in July.

Annual General Meeting

Theatre BC’s Annual General Meeting is held during the Mainstage Festival annually in July.

The next AGM is scheduled for: 2:00 pm on Saturday, July 11th, 2020 at The Capitol Theatre, in Port Alberni, BC. More information can be found here.

General Information:

Founder: Major Llewellyn (Bill) Bullock-Webster
Date of Incorporation: January 4, 1932
Society Act Registration: S-2032
Charitable Registration: 119217206 RR0001
Fiscal Year End: March 31
Annual General Meeting: July – Mainstage Festival
Election of Officers: July – Mainstage Festival
Honorary Life Members: Lisa Desprez (Nanaimo),Doug and Mary Huggins,  Gwen Crowe (Delta), James Bowlby (Salmon Arm), Catherine Faulkner (Salt Spring Island), Bill Langlois (White Rock), Pennie Liebel (Campbell River), Anne Marsh (North Vancouver), Jay Norton (Qualicum Beach)